Lifetime Achievement Award-Southern California Booksellers Association 1999

Caldecott Honor Book 1990

Society of Children’s Book Writers Golden Kite Award 1989

Colorado Children’s Book Award 1986 and 1975

Recognition of Merit-Claremont Graduate School 1985

Significant Author Award-California Reading Association 1983

Southern California Booksellers Award 1981

Young Readers Medal–California Reading Association 1980 and 1976

Georgia Children’s Picture Storybook Award 1979

Golden Archer Award–University of Wisconsin 1978 and 1977

Children’s book Award–California Reading Association 1975

Southern California Council of Literature for Children and Young People 1967

Indiana Children’s Literature Award 1966